Ombre beachy dresser

Architectural Modern by Morris Vintage Dresser

I found this old dresser in the corner of a shop resting on it’s side. When they said $5 I scooped it up without much inspection. When I got it home and out of the car I was pleasantly surprised!

Ombre garage door

On a walk down to the beach we came across this ombre garage door which inspired the ombre colored dresser drawers

Architectural Modern by Morris Vintage Dresser

It looked like someone started to strip it down to re-paint it but stopped short. The two toned drawers gave me a leg up on the whole ombre theme.

How to use wood filler

First:
I sanded the piece down

How to use wood filler

Fill in all the gaps, missing wood, chips and holes with wood filler

 DIY wood filler

After the wood filler dries, sand it down smooth

Inside the drawer was a pleasant surprise! Vintage Castors!

Remember how I said I was pleasantly surprised!? Well when I opened the drawer there laid the original castors, plastic jewelry holders and a label!

Architectural Modern by Morris Los Angeles California

“Architectural Modern by Morris Los Angeles California” what a score for $5! This was originally a well made piece and had the round cool lines of mid century modern style!

Water damaged dresser...how to repair

This pic shows the water damage on the top of the dresser. Using a razor blade we removed all the chipping and lifting wood.

Before painting use wood glue to secure castors

Before I started to paint I glued the castors in with wood glue and let dry overnight

DIY ombre dresser tutorial

First I white washed the whole dresser. Add water to white paint. Wearing gloves dip an old towel in the mix and spread over the whole piece. Let dry. Then start with the lightest top drawers. Add a very small amount of blue paint to white paint. Coat with a thin layer. Then for the next set of drawers add more blue paint, repeat for the last set of drawers.

Twine Covered Drawer Pulls-Tutorial- this is soooo easy!

As you can see in the before picture this dresser did come with drawer pulls. I picked up some plain wooden knobs from my local hardware store. Using twine and a hot glue gun I starting hot gluing the twine to the base of the knob. Wrapping and gluing around the knob as I went. I coated each knob with a thin coat of clear craft varnish to prevent stray twine hairs from getting unraveled.

DIY twine knob pulls- twine covered drawer pulls tutorial- this is soooo easy! So much cheaper than spending $5-$10 for each knob!

Start gluing twine at the base and continue wrapping until you reach the middle.

DIY twine knob pulls- twine covered drawer pulls tutorial- this is soooo easy! So much cheaper than spending $5-$10 for each knob!

This is soooo easy! So much cheaper than spending $5-$10 for each knob!

DIY twine knob pulls- twine covered drawer pulls tutorial- this is soooo easy! So much cheaper than spending $5-$10 for each knob!

DIY twine knob pull tutorial So much cheaper than spending $5-$10 for each knob!

DIY ombre dresser with twine door knob tutorial

I was really happy with the finished product! It matched so well with our beach themed room

DIY ombre dresser with twine door knob tutorial

After pic

beachy keen

Beach themed decorating

Here are my favorite products used in this post:

3 thoughts on “Ombre beachy dresser

  1. Pingback: Open the Door. Times-Picayune | Life Ă  la mode

Hit me up!

