Coffee Cart

Coffee Cart

My inspirations:

One of my husband and I’s favorite places to go in Los Angeles is trader vics at the Beverly Hilton hotel.

Trader Vics at the Beverly Hilton hotel

After one of our visits we took home a mai tai glass:

traver vics mai tai glass

I loved the herringbone pattern and decided to go with that…

Step by Step DIY tutorial for a herringbone bar or coffee cart

IMG_6297

I purchased this kitchen cart from a garage sale. The proceeds went to the english bulldog rescue of Arizona so I paid $20. My husband absolutely hated it and didn’t want me to bring it home. Normally I wouldn’t have overpaid for such an ugly cart but it was going to a great cause!

IMG_6298

It was dated, old and wasn’t anything special.

IMG_6299 IMG_6300 IMG_6301

The back panel of the cart was loose and the wheels barely rolled..

IMG_6302

First, I removed the ugly handles I thought I would throw away. However, I kept them just in case.

IMG_6303

See the broken left wheel?

IMG_6304

The back panel wasn’t secure. I used wood glue to fill in the back corners of the panel & wheels and let dry over night.

IMG_6305

Removed the old ugly wheels

IMG_6307

This particular kind is most commonly found on rolling office chairs and can be popped out of place with a screwdriver.

IMG_6308 IMG_6309

The side towel handle is also removed before I started to paint.

IMG_6537

Using my ryobi sander I tried to grind down some of the knife marks on the top cutting board. The wood was pretty porous so I didn’t need to do much sanding anywhere else. Then I used minwax glossy stain for an all over finish:

antique walnut glose

I bought some new rolling wheels from Ace hardware and installed them in the existing holes. 

IMG_6538

Some of the cutting board marks are still visible but that didn’t really bother me. Make sure to use this stain outside.The fumes are strong and I would recommend wearing a mask and gloves.

After I was satisfied with the color (2 coats), I let the stain dry and painted the drawers and cabinets with a flat black paint. You could also use a chalkboard paint.

IMG_6560

Then I used a yard stick to draw lines down the front of the drawers and cabinets with a white paint pen.

IMG_6561

Fill in in the lines with the herringbone pattern.

IMG_6563

Like I said I didn’t think I was going to reuse the old handles but since the herringbone pattern was so busy I decided to paint the old ones black and re-use them.

IMG_6564

My husband loves coffee and was thrilled with the final project. Now he has a specific coffee cart to enjoy his morning espressos!

IMG_6565

Here are some other great blogs:

One thought on “Coffee Cart

Hit me up!

